Weekly Photography Challenge: My Neighborhood

I’m so excited about the first Phonography Challenge!

I’m a small town farm boy at heart, but I’d like to take you on a little journey through my neighbourhood: Toronto.

Yes, Toronto is Canada’s largest city, but it’s actually not that big when you think about it. It’s easy to get around either by walking, cycling or using transit. Like many cities around the world, Toronto is made up of a bunch of neighbourhoods – Chinatown, Little Italy, Little India, The Annex, The Beach, etc.  I live in the part of town affectionately known as Greektown.

My primary mode of transportation is on my trusty bike. The ride to- and from- work gives me a chance to get a bit of exercise each day and clear my mind.

Fridays at my house are dubbed “Pizza Fridays!” and one reason for this is because we have the best pizza shop in town. This shop has been around for more than forty years. The old guy who owns it wasn’t very happy about me taking his picture, but I simply had to. He is a master at what he does.

I can’t start my day without a morning cup of coffee, and there is no shortage of great coffee shops in the east end. This is courtesy of Rooster Coffee House. A hipster joint with friendly staff and great java.

Probably my favorite view of the city is this one. I had to pop off my bike to snap this pic last fall.

When I’m biking around town, I always keep my eyes open for a great shot. I think that once you understand how your camera phone works, there are images to be had around every turn.

I’m not in the entertainment business, but I work in the Entertainment District. This is a shot of the lit awning of the beautiful historic Royal Alexandra Theatre.

I like to take walks on my lunch breaks everyday. I recently discovered how beautiful it is to walk along the waterfront.

And, of course you can’t go anywhere in Toronto without seeing the CN Tower. Our most well-known landmark is visible whether you look up, or whether you look down, as in the case of the shot below.

I hope you enjoyed our little cycling tour of Toronto as much as I did. The weather is starting to show signs of spring, so I’ll be back on my bike in the next few weeks. I’m really excited about that. I’m also really excited to see what all of you come up with in this week’s challenge.

Till next time my friends

Note: all of the pics above can also be found on my Instagram.

16 comments

Please share your thoughts below...

