Supermoon Over Toronto

so, on my way to bed last Sunday night, I noticed that the moon looked big, bright, and full. I quickly grabbed my Sony NEX camera, strapped on my 500mm f/8 Tokina manual focus lens, and snapped a couple quick shots of it… handheld.

It turns out that this wasn’t just an ordinary moon, it was a supermoon.

supermoon is the coincidence of a full moon or a new moon with the closest approach the Moon makes to the Earth on its elliptical orbit, resulting in the largest apparent size of the lunar disk as seen from Earth. – source Wikipedia

It’s not the sharpest shot of this relatively rare occurrence you’ll find on internet, but I’m relatively happy with the results given my limited skill and $20 pawn shop lens.

2 comments

Please share your thoughts below...

