A Yashica, A Minolta and Some Lomo Film

Today marks the date that film photography rumbles back into my life, and here’s how it happened.

About a year and a half ago I was in search of a 35mm lens for my Sony NEX camera. I had heard that old Minolta manual focus lenses were a popular and inexpensive option for those wanting to expand their kits, so I researched it, and found one. The lens I found was in great shape, and it just so happened to be selling with a Minolta SRT-101 and a Yashica Electro 35 GSN. How much you ask? It cost me about $35 plus a couple bucks for shipping from Ebay.

Steal!

Now, unfortunately I have forgotten everything I once knew about film, but thankfully, I didn’t really know very much to begin with. So, I grabbed the cheapest film I could find, some Lomography XPro Chrome 100, loaded up the two cameras, and headed out to see if they even worked.

It has been a long time since I’ve used a film camera, and I had forgotten how relaxing and peaceful it was to shoot film. I’m happy to say that I love it, and that I think I’ll continue with it.

Here are some of the first images I shot with each camera.

Minolta SRT 101 & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 Minolta SRT 101 & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 Minolta SRT 101 & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 Minolta SRT 101 & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 Minolta SRT 101 & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 Minolta SRT 101 & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100

Minolta SRT-101 & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100

Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100

Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100

It’s tough to tell which camera I prefer after this initial test run. Though I like the light weight and the super fast lens of the Yashica, I think I prefer the handling and complete control over the manual features of the Minolta.

6 comments

  1. Xpro Chrome is sooooo good, isn’t it?! These are just gorgeous and I totally feel you, it IS hard to decide which camera to like better! Although I do think the Yashica lens is one of the best out there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks Katie, I wasn’t sure what to expect from the film but I definitely like the effect. I have one more roll to finish up. I also agree with you about the Yashica lens. I’m really impressed with the ease with which you can focus it. I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to focus manually, but it seems to be easier than I thought. Thanks so much for stopping by.

Please share your thoughts below...

