My Favorite Resources: Blogging Calendar Tips

If you’re just starting out with your blog and you are finding it difficult to maintain, then perhaps this post will help.

I was inspired to write this after reading Michelle’s post over at the Daily Post about creating a blogging calendar on the weekend. I happened to comment on my workflow, she liked it, so I thought I’d share it with all of you.

University ave

I work during the day, and I have a family that I LOVE to spend time with, so I have come up with a schedule that incorporates a different theme for each day of the week. It’s simple and attainable, so it works well for me. For example:

Monday – post a street photography series;
Tuesday – post a single image that has to do with a street or neighbourhood;
Wednesday – open topic day, to give me some flexibility;
Thursday – post photography tips/resources that I use and think others might benefit from;
Friday – post day for my personal black and white photo challenge.

I take weekends off.

Itโ€™s pretty basic, but it helps take the guess work out of blogging.

The other thing that I do is write all of my posts over the span of one or two nights a week. That way it doesnโ€™t feel like a job. I also keep notes in my Gmail, so that when it comes time to get down to work at the computer, I donโ€™t draw a blank.

As usual, I would really like to hear about what works for you, and if you’re struggling, ask a question in the comments and I’ll do my best to help you out, and maybe others will chime in as well.

I always love hearing from, and chatting with, each of you. You guys make this blogging thing so much fun.

27 comments

    1. Leanne, I imagine you would have a well.defined weekly plan. I’ve probably unconsciously used you and a couple of other people as an outline. It really does help to have an outline.

  1. I follow a system of complete and utterly randomness, but I send photos to Leanne & Laura’s Monochrome Madness that they post on Wednesdays. The weekly photo challenge on Fridays, Paula’s Thursday Special and I have a Sexy Sunday post going in my other blog (where I also post a lot of point&shoot pictures of street art that I happen to pass by).

    I also have different projects going on, like for example my posts on “Israel 1970’s”, “Gamlebyen – Then and Now” and my series about “The History of Tattoo”. The tattoo posts takes a lot of time, because there’s a lot of sources and material to read through and a lot of facts to check before I can post it. I’ve also been trying to get people to contribute with tattoo photos to these posts. I’ve only published one article every 6 months in that series (approximately).

    My random non-system has been working fine, but I think that I’ll might have to plan it a bit more. Perhaps do like you and write posts on one night and save them as drafts. I do that for my artishorseshit blog.

    1. I can totally see a system in your supposed chaos. There’s no way you could maintain your awesome blog without a formula of some sort. It’s like those with tidy desks vs those with messy desks, the messy worker can still find everything he needs.

  2. Impressive organization skills, Shane. My topics are sort of all over the place so I don’t follow a “topic” schedule. But I find after blogging for three months now, that I am falling into a routine of when I choose to post something. And then there’s always Friday’s Photo Challenge which may or may not inspire me. That’s how I found you!!

    1. See? Even when you don’t think you have a routine, you have a routine. I think it’s almost impossible to blog without some sort of system… even if it’s a very infrequent one.

      Always nice chatting with you ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Shane,

    What an interesting topic!
    Well, as I’m still very new to blogging I’m not sure I can say, I’ve got a system, but here is what I usually do. (or what I usually try to do)
    On each week I’ve got a “theme”. It could be anything. (Last week I had “tulips” as a theme, this week I’m doing my “the place where I live” theme for example.)
    Usually I shoot my series at the weekends, so in an ideal situation I’m all set on Sunday. Which means I’ve got five photos (from Monday till Friday) to post meanwhile I can plan my next week.
    I know it’s very basic, but at the moment this fits for me perfectly, but I’m sure it will change with time.

    1. Hi Emese,

      Thanks for sharing your workflow. You may think it’s simple, but it sounds very good, and very well structured. A weekly theme is an excellent idea, and I imagine it can help focus your weekly shoots.

      Do you decide on a theme beforehand, or does it come from inspiration from your photos?

      Thank you so much for sharing.

      1. Yes, it does help a lot. I would say I like to see my next week shoots in my head by Thursdays, so when the weekend comes I know exactly what, where and when I’m going to shoot.
        But of course it’s not a strict rule.

        On the theme side I’ve got a few guidelines such as: an “indoor” theme follows by an “outdoor” one, but usually I just do whatever interest me really.

        Btw I always get at least one photo what seems nice, but it doesn’t fit into my current series, so I keep them safe (save them for later) and will see what can I do with them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I try to do every other day or every three days. I was doing every day for awhile and it became too much for me. I would sit glued to the computer and my husband would ask me if I would ever stop. lol

    1. Laura, that seems like a very reasonable number of posts.

      I have to fight myself sometimes from post all of my photos in one post. If I did that, I’d run out of material in a hurry. It would be a different story if I got paid to do this blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hi Shane, great post (and comments). It’s really interesting to hear how people plan their blogs. I’ve only just started out with this blogging lark, so hope to get into some sort of routine soon, but at the moment I’m working mainly on the hit and hope principle. Yes, definitely need some structure, thanks for the shove in the right direction. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Katie, thanks for stopping by.

      It actually took me several years of stops and starts before settling on this blog and post format. I think we tend to put too much pressure on ourselves when it comes to blogging, and it’s not until we relax and have fun with it that we have success with blogging… whatever that success may be.

      As long as you have fun with it, it’ll show through your work and your words. And that’s when people start to take notice.

  6. My routine for 2014 is my Friday Floral post, Weekly Photo Challenge also on Friday. Then depending on what I shoot during the week another post. If I shoot many images, it may be multiple posts.
    Tamara

  7. Hi Shane! I just started my blog and was planning to populate it with the photos I have taken over the years. But what you wrote is food for thought. Perhaps I should post different series on different days.

    1. Hi Jasmine, you could upload a small gallery of about 10-15 images if you’d like, and I’d definitely suggest breaking your photos down into small groups, or singles, and using them for posts. Look for similar themes in your photos and design posts around those these. You could also split a theme into several posts and upload just one image per post for that theme.

      Hope this helps ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m super impressed by everyone who manages to stick to a regular blogging schedule. I am guilty of super irregular, sporadic updates. Some weeks I post almost every day, some weeks I don’t post at all. Until fairly recently, my blog had gone over a year without a new post. It’s unfortunate, but I’m so busy that blogging often takes a back seat to everything else. So kudos to you all!

    1. I can relate. Blogging isn’t a paying job for most of us, but it can feel like it is sometimes with the amount of work that can go into maintaining one.

      No matter what the frequency, it’s the enjoyment that we get out of it that counts.

      1. I totally agree. I think what I was missing was that I wasn’t reaching out into the community far enough. I don’t think I’m doing a great job now, but Laura and Leanne’s photo challenges pointed me in the right direction.

  9. That’s very good, thanks for sharing! I’m actually thinking about starting a 365 photography blog for a challenge, and it would really help to have a plan like this instead of carrying the camera around all day and looking for something – anything – to write, then possibly being disappointed at the end of the day.
    For my doll blog I usually write on weekends, Saturday or Sunday. I work on long posts all week long, a bit at a time (much like you do), but I usually stick to weekends. I write at work all week long, so to have something lighter to look forward to on the weekend really works for me ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose the purpose of the blog is a bit of a dictator of the schedule too.

Please share your thoughts below...

