Street Walking: Getting Around the City

To say that driving around Toronto is a nightmare is probably a HUGE understatement… probably just like it is in any major city. So, we Torontonians rely heavily on the “Red Rocket”, our incredibly under developed, and overly stuffed subway/bus/streetcar system. When we’ve heardย quite enough of the commonly delaying issues related to “switching problems” and “passenger assistance alarm activations”, we resort to taking matters into our own hands… roller blading, cycling, and walking.

Happy Monday everyone! And here’s to a smooth commute to work, no matter what method you choose. Oh, and I recently heard that the New York transit system now offers late slips to it’s riders to help combat the ever present sceptical boss. Ya hear that Toronto?

roller bladingcyclingwalking

20 comments

  1. Great shots! Makes me very grateful for my 2.7 miles of a commute in the suburbs that takes 6 minutes. Seriously! I promise I won’t complain about that anymore. I’ve got every intention of posting some old street walk photos that I’ve done. Old photos, but every time I see your street series it inspires me to post some of my own. Thanks Shane.

    1. Thanks Hannah, I always enjoy our little chats here.

      I’m quite envious of your little commute, but now that I’m able to get on my bike each day, life will improve immensely for me. It’s really my favorite mode of transportation.

      Chat soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh no… don’t knock the subway system! ๐Ÿ˜€ you have no idea what the Tube in London is like… the Tube will have you running back to the TTC to hug the nearest bus or streetcar in one afternoon. It’s funny actually, I was digging through lots of old papers the day before yesterday, and I came upon an old email from my boss. It was a ‘thank you’ message to say I’m the first to arrive today and to hang in there, everyone is going to be late because of the huge blizzard. I was the only person in the office who took the TTC to work… about 40 others drove to work. But the train was running smooth as a smoothie. I miss the subway… during my last week in Toronto I actually filmed a journey through several stations through the front window of the first car. I still look at it sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚ great pics, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I really enjoy logging onto WordPress and knowing that there’ll be something for me to look at almost every day on your blog.

    1. Thanks so much! I really love your memories of living here.

      I could only imagine that London would be that much worse than here… but just look at the population difference. If only Toronto would add one or two more lines, we’d be set… I think.

      1. It’s true… Comparing Brazil, for instance, with Europe we see the huge difference. People know about all the benefits of having a bike, but having a car is still one of the biggest symbols of money for Brazilians. And cars there are 3x more expensive there than in Europe… Who knows what’s inside people’s minds! Lol. You’re welcome!

  3. The clarity of the details in the photos is just phenomenal. The adjective “cinematic” popped into my mind. I got a kick out of the rollerblader carrying her shoes (that’s traveling light – not even a backpack!). And here in DC, we certainly see tourists and lots of messengers on bicycles, but not too many people in business attire ๐Ÿ˜€ Luckily, we have a pretty decent metro system, and of course there are taxicabs, lots and lots of taxicabs…

    1. Thanks! I like to walk around with a wide depth of field to get as much of the scene as possible in focus. I also like to narrow it down quickly when I want to isolate something. I also realized that I think my love of Tim Burton movies is showing through with my processing style ๐Ÿ™‚

      There are plenty of suited cyclists around here. Fashion is a priority.

  4. Excellent photos. I certainly don’t miss the daily commute (GO Train was my choice of travel). That being said, I love the ‘oh so familiar’ street views. Thank you for sharing. ๐Ÿ˜„

  5. In Oslo the best way of getting around is by bike. There’s also ‘public bikes’ here that you can borrow for 2 hours, but I believe it’s only for those who subscribe to a specific newspaper.
    BIcycles are the best, it keeps you fit and gets you where you need to go.

    1. You guys are so far ahead when it comes to thinking of alternative transportation modes.

      We also have a bike share system here. You have to pay for the service, but it seems to be picking up steam here. I believe the system is very popular in Paris, so we’re trying to adopt it here.

    1. Well, I was just about to ask if you lived in Toronto, but it’s pretty clear on your blog… which I love, by the way…

      I’m a cyclist as well, and once I make the move to Ottawa later this spring, I’ll be enjoying a whole bunch of new cycling experiences. I love cycling through that city.

      Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Great! I enjoyed Ottawa during the times we’ve cycle-toured several different trips. Sure it’s more staid but does have great cycling there…and you’re way closer to Quebec aka Route Verte bike routes!

Please share your thoughts below...

