Black (& White) Friday: Silhouette

Today’s B/W Friday post is a special one, because it is a collaboration of image and words, a collaboration between me and a wonderfully talented writer named Nicole Sander.

Lately, I have been putting a lot of thought into pairing some of my images with words written by someone far more capable than me. I thought it would be interesting to get a completely different perspective on my images from a creative who expresses themselves in a completely different way than I do. Nicole and I met through WordPress, and I was so impressed with her writing style that I reached out to her to see if she would be interested in collaborating with me. She said yes, and today I am sharing our first effort together.

I would like to start a discussion about collaborations, and I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments. Are you for, or against it? Would you ever let someone else edit your image, why or why not? Would you ever like to see your work interpreted by someone else?

I am definitely be open to future collaborations, but for now I’d like to hear what you have to say.

Please take a few moments to click over to Nicole’s website at nicolesander.com.

shane/nicole collab 1

For years, the hopeful books on these shelves have gazed back at many thirsty minds. Here they aim seduction with their titles, working their shimmering lettering and elegant jackets. Knowing many of them intimately, a familiar face approaches. Over the years, her hands have sifted through many of them, tracing their pages with her fingers and reading their words softly aloud. She knows one particular book the most. Quietly and reluctantly, she returns it for the last time.

29 comments

  1. Wow. The two of you together have created a stunning description and image: a collaboration that ignites the imagination and leaves us wanting for more. Excellent work!

    1. Thanks oh so much 🙂 Are you enjoying Blogging 201 as much as I am?

      I’m also using Flickr and I post to Instagram. I’ve considered Tumbler, but haven’t tried it yet. Do you use Tumbler, what are your thoughts on it?

      1. I use instagram and flickr too, they are linked up, the instagram is on a widget down the side of my blog and really i just put fun stuff from my phone on there some that i have overly edited with quirky aps lol. My flickr is on a page which is my more ‘serious’ stuff but I am just starting out with photography. I’ve used tumblr before its good and gets you out on a different medium, maybe you could make a section of different subject matter photographs and put them on there to get other bloggers to know you andlink back but that is if you have the time. It all takes time doesnt it?

      2. Seriously, it takes a lot of time… but I love it. I also try to be smart about it so that I don’t let blogging and social media take up my whole day.

        I’m also pretty new on Flickr, so I’ll head over and check you out over there. I’m always up for connecting with people in different mediums.

      3. Thanks, I just took a holiday in Devon so have about 800 pics to sort lol …faints! However you can see two in my bastets pixel ventures which was a couple of posts ago 🙂

  2. I do think some photographs are worthy to stand just on their own but many evoke, in me anyway, a story or poem. I love this collaboration, beautiful idea. I am partial to collaborations for a number of reasons the main one being bringing together talent together makes for greater talent. What a cool idea to think about someone editing my photograph or taking the beginning of a poem and turning it into their own. It makes for an interesting post, I think.
    I am also on 201 but struggling with the additional on-line presence push. I spend as much time as my little boys and husband care for me too writing, posting and commenting on WordPress. Not sure how to split myself any further. I actually stopped facebook all together just before starting up my blog. It is so liberating!!

    1. Carrie, I know what you mean. It’s definitely hard to maintain a presence everywhere, and I think you (and by you, I mean all of us) have to be realistic about what we’d like to accomplish with blogging and social media. I’ve written before about establishing a posting schedule, and I try to post a related image on Instagram once a day (that links up to Facebook), so that helps me cover more than one online outlet. I also have my social media accounts linked into my blog, so it shares my posts through them as well.

      Now, that doesn’t leave much time for me to share great content from other people, but that’s the trade off at this time. I’m working on trying to change that, and I’ll figure it out eventually.

      In either case, I’m really happy with the blog and love doing it and interacting with others (like you) each day.

      That’s where the real fun happens 🙂

      1. agreed Shane. You have many reasons to be happy with your blog. It is great. I do enjoy interacting with talented folks like yourself on a daily basis. Makes me see my world in a different light.
        I am happy with all I am learning and doing now with my blog as well. When the time is right to branch beyond the wordpress bubble I will. Thanks for the conversation.

    2. I know what you mean Carrie about the additional online presence push. I also left Facebook 4 years ago after just a one year trial of it. I couldn’t stand the display of narcissism there, so went back to solitary.
      I think once 201 is over, we’ll realize that we made a lot of headway with blog aesthetics and improvements in understanding most of blogging’s capabilities, but at the end of the course, I’m going to return to the thing I love most: writing.
      That is indeed liberating for me!

  3. This is a wonderful photo Shane, I like it a lot! The light coming from the back is really lovely, also the perspective is great. The atmosphere in the library is wonderful! I enjoyed Nicole’s story also. I think collaborations are really great! I think the idea of a few photographers editing the same photo would be really interesting. 🙂

Please share your thoughts below...

