Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters

After visiting one of the oldest libraries in Canada (I think), Osgoode Law Library, I thought I would share one of my images from the visit for this week’s photo challenge. The lighting was very poor in the library, so this is the best image of the books that I got.  It was a pretty spectacular visit for a history buff like me, as many of the books date back more than one hundred years.

Question – while while we’re on the topic of letters and books, if you could recommend ONE book for me, and other blog viewers to read, what would it be?

This may be a bit of a cheeky way for me to get some good summer reading ideas 😉

wpc letters - old books

14 comments

  1. Loving the tatty old books (I love for old books – the older the better!).

    I just wrote a book recommendation the other day… it’s far from the best book in the world (don’t expect a master piece by any means!)… but it is as far as I can remember the only book that’s actually made me laugh. The book is Incompetence ( http://crapiblogabout.wordpress.com/2014/04/23/incompetence/ )… but if I was to mention the best book I’ve ever read it will have to be The Count of Monte Cristo.

    1. Thanks for the book recommendation 🙂 I’ll definitely take a closer look at this one.

      I love things that show their age, and books are always a great photo subject. I will be doing a post on the amazing architecture of this great library soon, so if you have an interest in architecture and things of days’ gone by, then you may enjoy the post.

  2. I am recommending “The Color of the Wild”. It is a beautiful book both in spirit and writing. Written by Gin Getz, a memoir mostly set in the high elevations of the Colorado Rockies. She writes so beautifully, poems, short stories. You feel like you could be in her small, drafty cabin sipping a cup of warm coffee and listening to her life story as you read. I loved it. She also blogs 🙂 Her blog is http://www.gingetz.com and I look forward to everyone of her posts. Her photography is incredible too! Enjoy.
    Oh and I love this image too Shane, old shelf worn books are so cool.

    1. Hi Carrie… happy Monday!

      Thanks so much for the recommendation, it sounds excellent. I’m trying to open her blog as I type this, but my internet is way too slow today 🙂

      Anyway, thanks for the comment. I always enjoy chatting.

      1. Happy Monday to you! I love her work, she is humble and raw. Her love of nature is so heartwarming and I have gotten to know her after reviewing her book and have learned so much from her. She is a gem.
        Hope your internet speeds up, so much to experience 🙂 Enjoy!

  3. Aren’t libraries photogenic? Here in Manchester we’ve just had our Central Library re-open after more than 3 years of renov. I did a photo session there on the very last day before closure – so now I’m gearing up for a visit to photograph the new look 🙂
    For a book recommendation, it has to be this: Nothing to Envy: Real Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick. No buts – go get it.

    1. Excellent! Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll check it out for sure.

      I’d love to see the before and after photos of your library. Is it very old? Actually, my best friend’s family comes from Manchester.

  4. So you managed to pop over there! Got any architectural shots? 🙂 Sorry this is a real book recommendation: Colour: Travels Through the Paintbox. By Victoria Finlay. She takes each colour and traces its history, goes travelling in…search of the original colour pigment source.

    It’s a blend of history, travelogue, chemistry, biology and creativity/ingenuity..on colour creation and experimentation.

    1. Hey Jean,

      Yes, I went over to the library the day after we talked… thanks for the hot tip 🙂

      Of course I got some architectural shots! I plan to do a separate post on that next week. I haven’t decided whether I’ll post all the shots, or split it into two posts – one for the library itself, and one for the areas outside the library. It is such a beautiful place.

      Thanks for the amazing book recommendation. Being a lover of both art and history, I think I’d really enjoy this book. On my last trip to the AGO, there was a display on how colours were developed and mixed during the Resonance period in Italy. It was fascinating how they used egg yolk to make yellows, flower pedals for other colours, etc.

      Love that stuff!

      1. Super! I look forward to seeing those photos.

        I worked for another library in that building that is not accessible to the public –the Judges’ Library which serves only the judges and their staff.

  5. Oh, how I love libraries! The smell of books, the hushed voices, the solitude and quiet in the stacks. I was fortunate enough to spend a day in the stacks of the Library of Congress in Washington, DC about 15 years ago. That was absolute heaven. Your wonderful photo brought back that wonderful memory 🙂

  6. Here’s one for a photographer: The Magician’s Tale by David Hunt. A couple of years ago, I was in the library and I browsed and browsed and not one book told me to check it out! So I just grabbed one that had an interesting-looking cover. I loved it!

Please share your thoughts below...

