Street Portrait: Zoltan

On Monday, as I was cycling to work, I hit a roadblock at one of the bigger intersections in the city. All four directions were closed off, and I was forced to dismount and walk around the barricades. I noticed a passer-by pause for a moment to watch the workers on the street. I soon noticed that he raised a camera to take some shots of a worker cutting the pavement. With the soft morning light funnelling through the tall buildings, and the sparks shooting out from the ground, there’s no doubt he captured a pretty spectacular moment.

I quickly raced to the opposite side of the street to see if I could get a different angle of the scene, but when I raised my camera to shoot, the cutterย had stopped. To my surprise, another worker jumped into the frame and gave me a great big smile. He then waved me off and started to walk away, but I yelled over to him and asked him to pose, allowing me to get the shot below.

We chatted for a few minutes, I learned that his name was Zoltan, but with all the noise I had trouble carrying on much of a conversation. The cool thing is, Zoltan is looking for a photographer to take some shots of him in a more professional way. The bad thing is, I don’t think I’ll have time with such a tight time frame before I move out of the city. I’m trying to see if I can make it work, but I fear that it may be too difficult.

So we’ll have to settle with this image…

zoltan

17 comments

    1. Thanks! I did manage one shot of the guy, but from behind. Oh well. Ya, I don’t even own a case. That being said, I wouldn’t mind having a nice bag to tote my gear around in.

  1. A great photo Shane, and so cool he happened to be looking for someone to take photos of him. If at all you can you should do it, would be such a great experience. Are you moving out of Toronto?

    1. I know Elina, but unfortunately I just don’t have the time over the next couple of weeks.

      Yes, I am moving to Ottawa… our capital. It has a lot of great photographic opportunities, but it also has amazing natural landscapes… which we don’t have here in Toronto.

      I’m looking forward to sharing the new scenery.

      1. Exciting times ahead for you then. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know if you are familiar with Karen McRae photography… her blog is called draw and shoot. She lives in Ottawa and photographs nature a lot, in her own unique style.

        All the best with moving, it’s a huge process especially with kids. I hope it will be fun for you and your family in Ottawa. Can’t wait to see photos of new scenery. ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Yes, it is exciting and a lot of work, but it’ll be over with soon enough.

        Thanks for letting me know about Karen. I just looked through her blog and really liked her style. Definitely different from me, but very cool.

        Thanks for the well wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks buddy! We are moving to Ottawa, It’s our capital, but it’s not a big city and we can easily get to the countryside and national parks with great lakes and skiing in about 20 mins.

Please share your thoughts below...

