New Adventures

I am officially in relocation mode and find myself up to my eyeballs in packing paper and boxes. For the next couple of weeks I will be focused on getting the family moved and settled in the Nation’s Capital… Ottawa.

image

Over the past while, I seem to have built my blogging reputation as a Toronto street photographer. However, I feel that a photographer builds a reputation or portfolio on the content he or she shoots, rather than on the location being shot.

That being said, I am looking forward to exploring a new city packed with an incredibly rich history, beautiful urban and natural landscapes, and a dynamic bilingual culture of English and French.

For the next while I will be a little less accessible than usual, but I will strive to continue posting each day. I am excited about this new journey, and hope you’ll come along for the ride.

Here’s to new adventures on the road ahead πŸ™‚

imageHere’s my little guy strolling toward the site that was once Riverdale Zoo.

NOTE: stay tuned for a very special blog post on May 30. I truly hope you’ll be a part of it.

imageThis is my older guy looking at what was once the monkey cage at the zoo.

47 comments

  1. You’ve introduced Toronto in such a lovely way to us I am excited to see the streets of Ottawa and hear about the life there. πŸ™‚ Lovely post and sweet photos of your little guys Shane. All the best to you and your family!

  2. Wow! Hope you have a peaceful move and the kids are able to settle quickly into your new home! Document it with pictures! It’s always interesting to look back. Looking forward to future posts!
    Peace,
    Mar

    1. Thanks Mar, I always love chatting with you.

      You’d better believe I’ll document the move with pics, I’ve always got my camera handy πŸ™‚ We have lots if friends and family in the new city, so the move should be as easy as a move could possibly be. Luckily it’s not a different country or something like that.

  3. Wishing you a good move. We moved 20 times in 40 years so my wife became very proficient at it. I am looking forward to your coming photographic tours.

    blessings,

    frank

  4. Looking forward to seeing the nation’s capital through your lens. If Ottawa sees a spike in tourism after you move, I wouldn’t be surprised. You’ll have us all wanting to visit! Best of luck!

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚

      I never know if anyone outside of the country has actually heard of Ottawa. It’s not like Washington, where all you hear when you hear about the President is “Washington”.

  5. Shane! How lovely. Ottawa is so beautiful, and I know that you will have lots to photograph there. I look forward to it. We visit Ottawa every chance we get. I’m sorry we can’t share any of CONTACT, but I’m with a small group for this, and I have no idea where we will be when. Did you get up to the McMichael Gallery in Kleinburg to see what they had on exhibit there for CONTACT? It was verra fine.

    1. Oh it’s great to hear that you visit Ottawa, I’d love to connect sometime if you’re up for it.

      No, I didn’t get to McMichael Gallery, and it’s funny but I’ve never been. I used to live in Schomberg, a small town not far from Kleinburg and have passed it many times, but I’ve never been… such a shame. Was it a good show?

      1. That sounds like it would be an absolutely amazing exhibit. Too bad I’ll miss that. I wonder who the photographer(s) are for that? I’d love to look at their work online.

  6. Ottawa will give you plenty of new and different content. Nature here is also very close from downtown something that can give you interesting photos

Please share your thoughts below...

