Colourful Corner

I took this image quite a while ago, but went back to it only recently. There’s something about it that I like. Perhaps it’s the hard light and hard shadows dividing the image, perhaps it’s the abundance of amazing colours, or perhaps it’s just the overall grittiness of the image. Either way, I wanted to share it with you all, and I hope there’s something in here that you might also enjoy.

This was taken in Toronto’s Graffiti Alley, and I’ve featured several other images of walks through this alley system here. It’s actually kind of nice to go back to that post, because it was published over a year ago, and I had little or no idea how I wanted to process my images.

colourful corner

17 comments

  1. I like this! I’m not good at analyzing, but I think it’s because the artwork and the clouds give a sense of movement to the image. Kind of interestingly paradoxical.

  2. My four-year-old just walked up to me as I was admiring your image and said “I really like that!”, so you have full approval from our house 🙂 Really great!

  3. Nice shot and colors, Shane! When I see walls like this, my thought is always the same: “I wish I could have someone to place in front of this wall right now!”. I’ve always wondered if fashion photography is something fun to do. I guess yes. Have you ever tried?

    1. Hey! Great to hear from you 🙂 I haven’t tried fashion photography, but would love to. I have a good friend who does it professionally and he does great work.

      I think that the area where I.took this shot would also be a good location for a wedding shoot. Obviously not for traditional weddings.

      How are things in Italia?

      1. I also wanna try it. I’ve been searching for some courses here in Milan, but didn’t find an affordable one yet. This wall would be perfect for some fashion shots 🙂

        Milan welcomed me back with a grey sky (as usual), but besides that, everything’s ok! 🙂 I’m so sad that I missed your challenge! I got happy when I saw you were the author of that one, good job!

      2. Thanks so much, I was so surprises when I saw their email asking me to do a challenge. I hope to do it again sometime. It’s actually never too late to add to the challenge 🙂

        You should Google Lindsay Adler. She is one of the best young fashion photographers around, and she’s from New York… obviously.

        I’m not so sure about courses, bbecause there are so many self-taught pro photographers out there. Everything I’ve learned has come from articles, blogs, and YouTube.

      3. Same for me. Until now all my path was traced alone (except for some basic classes at university). I am looking forward to learning some light techniques and portrait, but I guess nowadays this is pretty easy to find online 🙂 I will tell you the truth: I truly love classrooms and to have a group of people around me with the same learning purpose. The result of this is a lot of money spent!Lol 🙂
        I will def search for Lindsey. It’s always good to have some inspiration around.
        Thank you for the tips!

  4. Nice shot Shane! I like the split of dark and light, as though you can cross from the good side of town to the bad side just by turning this corner. The clouds also give it a nice sense of motion and turbulence that adds weight to the decision whether to cross over to the dark side.
    I love looking over old pictures. It helps get a new perspective on them that you may not have noticed before!

Please share your thoughts below...

