Black (& White) Friday: Youthful Perspective

I’m not old, but sometimes I feel like I am. I’m fun-loving and easy going, but sometimes it’s hard to fight through the fog. I’ve always made an effort to put a smile on other people’s faces, to look on the brighter side of life. Ever taken a moment to look at my profile pic in my “About Page” or paid attention to my Avatar? That  huge grin you’ll see in both pics has been permanently etched on my face since the day I was born.

Sometimes though, as I get older (slightly), I find it hard to keep things positive. From time to time, the stress of everything that makes up life can weigh heavy on my tall but thin frame, and I can lose sight of what truly matters. I’m sure we’ve all gone through it from time to time, right?

But, it’s my kids who have given me a whole new perspective on life. It was the birth of my first son almost five years ago that made me realize it’s not always about me… it’s never about me. To a large extent it has been my two boys that have helped me see what’s important, and what’s worth fighting for. Sure, their curiosity can make our four minute walk to daycare in the morning last for forty-seven minutes, but it’s because they have a natural ability to slow things down, and focus on what really counts.

This post is for them… and for helping me see from their perspective.

blocks

29 comments

  1. Lovely post, Shane. I have three kids of my own, and though they are much older than yours, they still put things in perspective for me too. And, yes, it’s late where I am 😉

    1. Thanks Julie! I’m really glad you enjoyed the post.

      On another note, I’ve moved into my new home and I’ve discovered that I have a lot of garden maintenance ahead of me. I may be coming to you regularly for help.

  2. This is a beautiful honest post Shane… One I can relate to at times.
    As you say, most of us will at some time.
    Also a beautiful image!!

    I think I read you had moved. How’s it going?
    I have some catching up to do 🙂

    1. Thanks so much Robyn 🙂

      Yes, we moved a week ago and are having a great time in our new place. We are in Ottawa now and the city is absolutely gorgeous, especially in the summer.

      How have you been? It definitely has been a while.

      1. Oh well.. not long ago… hope you settle quickly and enjoy your new home and town.
        Sounds like we’ll be seeing some new views from you 🙂

        I’m actually doing pretty fine thank you… it’s been a while, but it’s all good.. we’re all doing our thing.
        Great to catch up when possible.

        Btw, I’m enjoying watching your split second challenge… Good on you Shane!!

  3. Beautiful shot – I love the angle and the tight focus…

    Life always has its ups and downs, and age doesn’t always make it easier to cope with the cr@p it throws at us (take it from somebody who knows!). Stay focused, keep yourself in mind and enjoy the good times! 🙂

Please share your thoughts below...

