Weekly Photo Challenge: Room, Osgoode Law

I’ve seen many beautiful rooms in my travels around the world, but I recently stumbled on some rooms with breathtakingly beautiful architectural detail right in my old back yard called Toronto.

I’ve been waiting for the right time to post these images as a follow-up to my post on The Great Library at Osgoode Hall, and I felt that this was as good a time as any.

In addition to the post mentioned above, you may also remember this beautiful light and staircase I shared in a recent Black (& White) Friday post. These images show you what lays beyond the staircase. I hope you enjoy…

The first flight of stairs brings you to a landing that commands you to stop and take in the grandeur of this 1830s Upper Canada Law Society building. I just love the detail in the columns, and the three beautiful arches that welcome you at the ceiling.

_DSC0067

But it doesn’t stop there. You must look directly above you to catch your first glimpse of the stained glass ceilings that this building is known for.

_DSC0059

Once atop the staircase, you are faced with the entrance to The Great Library. It’s a simple view, but the large double doors have so much detail on and around them.

_DSC0087-2While still facing the massive doors above, you are flanked on either side by the scene below. There are large beautiful paintings of who I would presume to be former judges, or similar figures, welcoming you as you come up the staircase to this upper level, and there are also beautifully crafted cabinets at the tops of each set of stairs as you can see below. In this shot, you can also catch a glimpse of the stained glass window I showed you earlier in this post. And, just look at the moulding on the ceiling… incredible.

_DSC0089With a quick about-face, you can pass through an opening into the main gallery. Through this doorway, is where I would LOVE to practice my HDR work. It was such a stunning sight that was too difficult to capture on my first visit. If only I had Trey Ratcliff with me to guide me along.

Let’s move through this doorway to see what’s beyond…

_DSC0116

As an art lover, I was captivated by the marvellous painted portraits throughout this chamber.

_DSC0079 _DSC0085-2

As you step to the ledge on the right in the image above, you see the grandeur of the design in this building. I think this was one of the spots where The Great Hall really shines…

_DSC0074 _DSC0075

When you are finished with looking down, you have to look up to see the most amazing vaulted stained glass ceiling. Again, HDR would work magic here, but I did my best with taking these shots hand-held. An ultra-wide lens would also come in very handy here. That’ll likely be my next purchase 🙂

_DSC0069

Lastly, I thought I’d show you a shot of the building from the courtyard outside. This place is such a treasure in a city where new construction is running rampant with steel and glass, and I was so delighted to have been able to see it before I left Toronto._DSC0044-2

 

15 comments

    1. Hi Ann,

      Thanks so much! I’m really having fun with black and white these days, and I’m learning that there’s more latitude with it than there is with colour. I can definitely salvage more detail this way.

  1. Great photos of the tile and the windows. Is the building open to the public? Could you take in a tripod? (…puts on list for next visit to Toronto…)

    1. Thanks!

      Yes, the parts I photographed are open to the public, but the court rooms are off limits so I didn’t go into them. I wonder the same thing about a tripod, and don’t think it would be an issue. I didn’t have time for a second visit, so I wasn’t able to try it.

Please share your thoughts below...

