Texting and Walking

Someone made a comment earlier in the year about visiting Toronto and noticing that everyone walked and texted at the same time. I didn’t think about it much until I read that comment, but I started to pay attention to the people I passed on the street and noticed that she was right.

Oddly enough, the people in these images aren’t walking and texting, but they definitely seem engrossed in their phone conversations.

I’ll never forget having my mind blown one afternoon in 2001 when my boss told me that I could type a message into my phone and send it. Today, I couldn’t imagine spending a minute of my day without my phone… and I barely use it to make calls with.

Do you remember the first time you texted? What was the message? Who was it to?

toronto street photography toronto street photography

27 comments

      1. Hehe tragic, isn’t it?! Suppose you could argue the same thing about walking with a camera to your face to a certain extent though, but that won’t stop me!

    1. Ha, that’s pretty good too. I think I had mine for a couple months before a call was ever made. Now, I do almost everything from my phone, including writing posts, and this reply πŸ™‚

  1. I was in college – I don’t remember who I texted, but I remember thinking I would be hearing about the charges later (from my parents) and that I hoped it wouldn’t take all my meager student worker wages to be able to text. πŸ™‚
    Great post! Thanks!
    Emily Grace

      1. I think I just didn’t text much. Actually, until about 4 years ago, I didn’t text. Now, my husband laughs at my high volume of texts. LOL Thank goodness for all-inclusive plans!

  2. I looked at the photo before I read your words and I had a totally different feel from the photo – the guy sitting to the left seemed kinda sad – and the whole mood of the shot was different – and then the texting came in – and I saw different things (just like a good photo can do!) and well, this week I am going to be peeking out for texter walkers….
    have a nice weekend….

    1. That’s really interesting that you perceived something completely different from what I actually photographed. But it’s also telling of how images evoke different emotions for different people. Part of me wishes that I just posted the images without any words after reading your comment πŸ™‚

  3. I usually try to avoid texting and walking, but was doing it this morning as I was in a hurry and nearly collided with a lamppost, the app sounds a great idea!

    1. Haha, well maybe I should get started on it πŸ™‚

      I’m very guilty of walking and texting. When I had one of the old Blackberry phones that had keypads it was a lot easier, but I still do it regularly. However, I will NEVER text while crossing the street, driving, or cycling.

  4. I’m sure the first text I ever texted was to the super techlet. “Mom, you have to get with it.” Yeah, that sounds about right. So I did. However, I was more surprised by the first person I witnessed on Bluetooth, though I didn’t know it at the time, because my response was… “Well, bless his heart.” Cheers.

    1. Ha, I still can’t get used to seeing people with those little bluetooth devices clipped to their ears. For some reason it just screams “sleaze” to me, but it shouldn’t because it seems like a very practical thing.

  5. These days it’s all about multitasking. πŸ™‚ I really don’t remember my first text message but I bought my first cell phone in 2001 because it started to be impossible to reach people via landline. πŸ™‚ Great post and photos Shane!

    1. Thanks again Elina. As much as I love cell phones, I miss the data before they took over our lives when my friends and I would sit and chat on the phone, or visit each other so we could talk.

      1. I know. πŸ™‚ I still remember the days we didn’t have even a landline phone and I needed to go to my friend’s place and knock at the door to ask if she was at home. And, writing actual letter to my grandparents. Sweet old times. πŸ™‚

  6. I love texting because I don’t like talking on the phone. Also, it’s a great way to keep in touch with my kids. We converse this way quite a bit which is a lot of fun. This wouldn’t happen if we were limited to phone calls. I try not to walk and text; it seems a little rude because people have to move out of your way. It seems a little self absorbed and presumptuous. Interesting post! πŸ™‚

  7. Well, the streets in these photos look pretty gloomy and cold, so texting perhaps connects one to brighter, happier things! I hate to text as it seems every second character is a typo. Wrong phone? big thumbs? no skill?

Please share your thoughts below...

