Black (& White) Friday: Low Key Self Portrait

A few month’s back I spent some time playing around with different lighting angles, and since I didn’t have the nerve to ask anyone to model for me, I did a lot of testing on myself. It’s not a very easy thing to do, and there are a lot of people out there who do some incredibly imaginative self portraits.

This is probably the image I liked the most from the hundreds of shots I’ve taken, and have recently worked on it and turned it into my brand image. This will also be my submission for Leanne’s and Laura’s Monochrome Madness post for next week. You can see this image and several other stunning black and white images over at Leanne’s blog.

self portrait

38 comments

    1. Thanks for the photo comment, but more importantly thanks for the salmon recipe.

      My wife’s aunt came over last weekend to do a grilled salmon for us and left the plank for us, so now we have the equipment πŸ™‚

      I’ll try this out for sure.

  1. Wow, Shane! First, you have once again taught me something – never having heard the term “low key lighting,” I of course googled it and was instantly fascinated. Second, using a low-key self-portrait is an inspired choice for your brand, as it’s a wonderful reflection of your photographic style. Third, the photo itself is stunning. You really captured the shadows and light beautifully, and the composition is spot on. I just love it!

    1. Stacy, thanks so much for the amazing complement(s).

      Yes, low-key lighting is a really cool technique, and really became synonymous with the golden age of Hollywood. If you’d like to see two great masters of low-key lighting just Google George Hurrell, and Ottawa’s own Yousuf Karsh.

      Next, thanks for making the link between the image and my “low-key” style. That didn’t occur to me, so thanks πŸ™‚

      Lastly, thanks re the photo. It was a combination of a bit of prep and a bit of luck.

Please share your thoughts below...

