Canada Day!

Hello all,

This is just a quick post to let you all know that today is Canada Day, and since I am now living in the nation’s capital, it’s only fitting that I join in on the festivities and dedicate today’s post to our national holiday.

Today I’m sharing the most fitting image that I have. In the background is our flag standing proud atop the Peace Tower at Parliament Hill, and in the foreground is a statue of our most celebrated and fittingly most famous Canadian, Terry Fox. If you don’t know Terry’s incredible legacy, please take a moment now and Google him. At 22, he died of cancer, but not before he touched every single Canadian through his marathon of hope where he attempted to run across Canada to raise money and awareness for cancer.

Happy Canada Day everyone! Celebrate by throwing on your toque (your winter hat) and cracking a cold beer. See ya tomorrow, eh!?!

terry fox

14 comments

  1. Happy Canada day to you!! One of my friends was from Canada, working here in the US. She would always have us go celebrate her country this day. Thank you for the reminder! I am going to go call her now! πŸ™‚

  2. I really like the framing of this shot. Great job Shane!

    Hope you don’t mind some constructive criticism though. I can’t help but notice that it looks like that lamp is coming out of his chest. Two ways come to mind about how to mitigate this. One, which I don’t think would work in this photo, would be a more shallower DOF to give the appearance of distance between the two objects. Second would be to move around the subject a bit if possible to still get the shot you want but without the distraction.

    I also criticize all of my photos in this way, not to make myself dissapointed in them, but to make myself see these things more while in the field. I now notice that I will find the scene I want to shoot, then I set up my tripod and camera to frame it. When framing I’ll constantly be looking through the viewfinder at all the objects throughout looking for anything that I may not like then looking at the scene without the camera to see if there’s any other vantage point that will still work if something looks distracting in its place. Sometimes I’m too caught up in the moment to notice some things though. Keep up the good work!

    1. Justin, thanks so much for the comment and for the tips. I know exactly what you mean with respect to the light post. I did happen to notice it, but this seemed to be the best I could do. By moving around, I was only able to move the light right in front of the tower, or have Terry block too much of the tower. I wondered if I would have had better luck from a higher vantage point, but would have needed a ladder. I’m also still working with the kit lens so 3.5 is as shallow as I can get at the moment.

      I really appreciate it though, and wish I could get more feedback on my images πŸ™‚ Perhaps a more seasoned photographer would have been able to see an angle that I didn’t.

      1. It might be the only way to get the shot in this instance is to take out the light. πŸ™‚ lol

        There are many times I wish I had my chainsaw with me when taking landscape shots. But then again, I don’t like to disturb nature. I only photograph it then move on.

        I know what you mean about getting feedback. Something I both like and hate about different places I post photos is that when people give feedback, it’s all praise. The good, it makes us feel better about our photographs. The bad, it doesn’t help us improve on the imperfections. I’m wondering if people are too worried about being disliked if they have something not so good to say about a photograph. I can see some people want nothing but praise, but I know all my photos aren’t perfect. But critiques can be somewhat subjective as everyone views a photograph in different ways where one may like everything about it and another may hate it altogether. As long as someone isn’t in an all hate mode bashing my photos, I don’t mind a bit of advice on how to improve on a photo. Whether it is framing, camera settings, or post processing, it’ll help me as I continue down this path. I also find that it’s very helpful as to why something doesn’t look right or work with possible solutions. I’ve seen photo critiques with a grading scale but no reason as to why it’s a good or bad photo. I tend to learn when watching a critique and they explain why it’s good or bad.

  3. I just adore the greens in this photo. I want to just stare at it and find them all.

    Thanks for telling about Canada Day! I’m looking forward to checking out the links…as soon as I can stop staring…

    :)eg

    1. Hey Emily,

      Thank you so, so much for the lovely comment. This spot is where all the festivities happen, and the fireworks flying out from behind the parliament buildings are pretty spectacular. I took this shot a couple of weeks ago, so there was just the usual tourist mayhem.

Please share your thoughts below...

