Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer Lovin’

Though I’m new to living in Ottawa I have been coming here on a regular basis for ten years, and if I’ve learned one thing, it’s that you simply can’t beat summers in our Nation’s Capital.

The city is chock full of amazing nature-filled outdoor spaces. Due to living in Toronto for the past ten years, cycling has become an integral part of my life, and Ottawa has a wonderful collection of cycling routes in and around the city to see places such as Hogsback Falls, which is only a couple of minutes away from my house. I wrote about my love of this spot and included a few other photos in a recent post here.

On the other side of the damn in the distance, you’ll find the Rideau Canoe Club. It is also the point where the Rideau River (pictured here) splits with the Rideau Canal.

I absolutely love the summer vibe in this city…

Hogsback FallsT

15 comments

    1. Thank you Laura, I was really happy with the way this shot turned out. Although, I would really love to catch a sunny day when I’m out with my camera sometime this year πŸ™‚ It’s always sunny, but when I have the chance to get out, it clouds over.

      1. Haha, well I like the cloudy weather too, but it just seems like every image I have is in full cloud. Honestly, I’m not really trying to make my world look like a Tim Burton movie.

  1. Last spring an amateur photographer drowned down there, he probably slipped on a wet rock, felt in the water and the heavy current dragged him away. They found his body a few days after, sad story but gave me a reminder, sometime the beautiful shot is not worth the risks

    1. Wow, what a tragic story. I looked it up immediately and it’s so sad that he was likely just trying to get a good shot. The side I was on is well guarded with a railing, but there is an open, and very dangerous area, on the other side of the falls. That’s possibly where he went in.

Please share your thoughts below...

