Black (& White) Friday: Kops Records

Top Five Movies About Music:

5. 24 Hour Party People

4. This Is Spinal Tap

3. Almost Famous

2. Anvil: The Story of Anvil

1. High Fidelity

_DSC0381-2

I loved the quote from Weird Al on the sandwich board in the image above!

I absolutely love High Fidelity, and just about every Nick Hornby book. John Cusack was my hero, and for many of my pre-teen and teen years I spent a heck of a lot of time making the perfect mix tape. Weren’t mix tapes an absolutely essential part of the time back then? We made them for friends, brought them to parties, we listened to them in our bedrooms until the tape came spilling out of our players.

Question: Did you make mix tapes? What kinds of music did you mix? Did you ever receive a tape from a special someone? I’d love to hear about it in the comments πŸ™‚

Near my old workplace in Toronto were a few long-standing vintage record stores, and Kelp Records was one of my favorite places to unwind during lunch and brows through their amazing selection of vinyl. These images were taken back in April, and in true hipster fashion, Kelp took the time to pay homage to one of my favorite bands with a nice little window display.

Back in the 90s I completely immersed myself in the grunge scene that took the music scene by storm, but today I am into the slightly more mellow singer-songwriter genre that is dominating the Canadian music scene at the moment, as well as some of the classics from Joni Mitchell and Gordon Lightfoot.

At the beginning of the post I shared my top five favorite music movies, but I’d love to hear about your favorites, and any fantastic songs or artists you’d like to share. I’m always excited to explore new music.

_DSC0379_DSC0382

14 comments

  1. I miss making mix tapes. A few years ago, some friends and I relived the fun, making mix CDs following a different theme each month. I still have an old mix tape from my first boyfriend. I made an mp3 version of it a while back (because it’s still a good mix) and in searching for an mp3 version of one song, I ended up exchanging emails with the singer (who sent me a copy of the song).

  2. I DID see Hot Tub Time Machine and don’t remember anything about it! Maybe it’s time to watch it again. Your image above is great. I think the guys is definitely going to stop in. The woman? No!

  3. Train songs! There is nothing like going for a long train ride listening to Crazy Train, Rock Island Line, both Jethro Tull and the LSO doing Locomotive Breath and, of course, Steve Goodman’s classic City of New Orleans (while reading Murder on the Orient Express and T. S. Eliot’s Skimbleshanks: The Railway Cat).

Please share your thoughts below...

