Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

Most of you know me because of the street photography I do, but I am equally obsessed with portraiture and lighting.

I am a huge fan of Richard Avedon, Yousuf Karsh, George Hurrell, and Marco Grob. Grob is probably my top choice of the bunch at the moment. There is so much that can be learned from these and other geniuses, and thumbing through their portfolios are a great way to spark your creativity.

Below is a simple one-light silhouette I made with aย makeshift grid aimed ย at the wall instead of at my model. One of the many things I took away from watching hours upon hours of Frank Doorhof videos on YouTube is that you can create a very dramatic mood by aiming your flash slightly away from your model, as I attempted here.

sara silhouette 2

23 comments

      1. I hope she doesn t take my comment bad. If she was a boy she would have been pretty as well… She could have been an oriental boy…. I guess

  1. This is a great shot. As Hopeje said, I couldn’t tell if it was a boy or a girl. I also would have guessed there was a window overhead her head had I not read your words about strategically positioning your flash. Great work.

Please share your thoughts below...

