Weekly Photo Challenge: Fray (Paranoid Android)

Yes, another grey and rainy day out shooting in Kensington Market in Toronto earlier this spring. I like cloudy days because the sky acts as one big soft box and the light is much softer and even which lends itself well for shooting in the street. Of course, when the weather acts this way, I am naturally drawn to bursts of colour, and that’s how I spotted these forgotten flowers in the gutter.

The funny thing about these flowers is that they almost got me in my first bout of trouble while shooting street photography. They were lying next to a relatively average car, and as I was crouched next to the car to take this shot, I heard several horn honks and yells. When I finished taking pictures of the flowers, I stood up and noticed a man marching swiftly toward me with concern, and wondering what I was doing.

It turns out that he owned the car, and was obviously spooked afterΒ coming out of a store and seeing someone crouching next to his beloved car. After I explained what I was doing, he seemed slightly more at ease. In my opinion, he was overreacting and all I could do was laugh at his pointless paranoia, or perhaps it was his frayed nerves.

In the end, I got my shot and that’s all that mattered.

flower in kensington market

18 comments

Please share your thoughts below...

