Black (& White) Friday: Watson’s Mill, Manotick

On Wednesday, my wife, kids, and I took a short drive to a nearby town called Manotick. It’s a gorgeous town on the river’s edge that was established sometime around 1826. Today, the town is bustling with shops and restaurants, and it also has quite a lively arts community.

One of the main attractions of this little village is the grain mill. The sign over the entryway says “since 1826”, but today it operates as a museum, and a cute one at that.

The imahe below was taken in the upper loft. There are various relics scattered throughout the building of the mill’s past, but as soon as I came upon this window scene I knew I wanted to process it in black and white. I know I don’t reveal much in this image, but I feel like it gives you just enough of a taste of the building’s history and detail.

image

13 comments

  1. Love the textures, the patterns, the lights and shadows – and you’re right, Shane, just enough to give us the flavor. Thanks for sharing the history. Sounds like you had a wonderful day πŸ™‚

  2. Excellent Shane! Love the contrast – b&w is perfect. Love the composition too – Seeing the metal wheel next to the rectangular window adds interest.
    Just a little spelling error in the 3rd paragraph – the word “image”. You can edit my comment after you fix it. πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend!
    Mar

    1. Hey Mar,

      Thanks… and thanks for pointing out the spelling mistake. I think I put this post together with the WordPress app on my phone, so that might explain the spelling error. Either way, I should have done a better job of spell checking πŸ™‚

Please share your thoughts below...

