Black (& White) Friday: Harvest Time

We’re quickly approaching Thanksgiving here in Canada, and it has always been my favorite time of year. I’ve been writing posts about the abundance of fall colours in the area, but it’s also our final kick at gardening and farming.

Earlier this week I took my younger son to the Experimental Farm, and because it’s within biking distance, I took my time cycling through the field trails as he napped, and made some photographs of the things I passed. I originally took this shot because of the vibrant yellow of the corn, but I also thought that it might be suitable in black and white.

For those of you living in similar climates, I hope you’re staying warm. And for the rest of you, I’m envious of your year-round summer weather 🙂

experimental farm

30 comments

  1. I love it! I’ve been noticing that, when I look at black and white photos, my sense of touch wants to get involved. B&W brings out textures I don’t often notice in a color photo. I can feel the cool, smooth kernels and the dry, scratchy husk.

    1. Haha, pumpkins would be nice. I was actually thinking of you when I took this. I thought it would have been nice to get some closeup pointers from you. I almost feel like I’d like to have one macro lens in my kit.

      1. There’s something about those macro lenses that’s for sure. I’ve tried using my 35mm which ends up being a 50mm on my DX and it’s a great little lens, but it’s just not the same. But still…I adore close up shots like these and this is really great!

      2. Is the 35 what you use for all of those wonderful flower images then? I often dream about having a macro in the 100-120 range that could double as my portrait lens. I feel like I’m down to just three lenses I’d like to own based on what I like to shoot – 11-16, 16-50, and 100ish macro would suit me nicely.

      3. I used my macro on the most recent flower images like in the last couple months. My macro is the Nikon 105mm…I love it! And yes for sure it can be used for portraits. I really need a 17-55mm 2.8 and a longer lens for all the bird action we have here from off our back deck. Then I’d be satisfied lol.

  2. Hi Shane, I’ve just seen this on the latest Monochrome Madness and think it the best thing there. I very much like the roughness of the corn on the cob, the little grey dimple in the top of each piece of corn, and the darker lines between the pieces – this could be some sort of grenade!

    And all this stands out very strongly – and very well framed by the cob’s two leaves – against that wonderfully blurred and quite anarchic backdrop – its almost as if the cob is jumping out of the photo at me! Very good stuff, very striking! Adrian

    1. Adrian, thank you so very much for this amazing comment. You totally made my day 🙂 There are so many wonderful images in Leanne’s posts each week, and I look forward to seeing what comes through.

      Thank you for stopping by!

Please share your thoughts below...

