Black (& White) Friday: Layers of A Farm

On a recent trip to the Experimental Farm, a rural sprawl of land right in the middle of the city, I paused to snap some shots of the human-less landscape. I’m still getting used to the vast amount of space and the incredible number of trees Ottawa has, that I didn’t see while living in Toronto.

I saw this scene as I cycled up to it and hoped it would work as a black and white image. I really like the textured layers, and how they move from dark to light as your eye moves from the bottom of the image to the top. I also like the barrenness of the landscape coupled with a tiny cluster of MASSIVE trees on the left. For me, the trees add perspective and a sense of scale, because they absolutely tower over you when you’re close to them.

This image will be part of Leanne Cole’s upcoming Monochrome Madness challenge.

corn field

9 comments

  1. I remember first time I saw that farm, impressive to see so many acres of agriculture right in the middle of the city…. you do not see that in many places

  2. Lovely. One of my favorite things to photograph are the out-of-the-way places like this, places where you can see forever and it feels like there’s no one around for miles. They’re getting harder and harder to find, especially with all the wind farms popping up here, and I think that’s why they fascinate me so. 🙂

    1. Hi Kay,

      I agree completely! I grew up in farm country so I was used to seeing this type of thing every time I walked outside, but after living in Toronto for more than ten years I think I’ve started to forget the great feeling this type of scene gave me.

Please share your thoughts below...

