Black (& White) Friday: O Canada!

You may have heard about the events that unfolded here in Ottawa on Wednesday. While on honorary guard at the National War Memorial, Cpl. Nathan Cirillo, an army reserve, was fatally shot in the chest at point blank range with a shot gun by a fellow Canadian.

After such a dark day here on Wednesday, I am adding just a hint of colour to my Black & White post this week to honour Cpl. Nathan Cirillo’s memory with an image of our National House.

o canada

To Nathan’s family and friends, I extend my sincerest condolences. We are where we are, and as safe as we are, because of Canadians like Nathan.

In related news, I was surprised and extremely honoured to learn that another one of my images has been widely shared throughout Instagram, along with a text overlay that someone did saying “One Love 613”, as a symbol of strength for many in the city. The feeling is probably partly selfish and ill-timed at a time like this, but I’m also glad that I have been able to contribute to the movement with something I’ve created.

one love 613 image 2

one love 613 image

 

 

24 comments

  1. Shane, lovely sentiments for a sad week here in Canada. He looked like such a sweetie, with his dogs and his son… My brother’s a reservist too, so I know as a family member how one can think, Oh well, at least he’s not posted in Afghanistan…. and then this. Terrible.

  2. Beautiful tribute in every way. These tragic, senseless acts take time to recover from. Turning to what we love, who we love and why we love keep us out of the fear wagon. Happy to see you are using your talents to offer some heartfelt hope. Lovely.

  3. It was indeed a sad day in Canada and for humankind when we are constantly made aware of such evil in this world. I love the hint of color you gave the image. And congrats on your instagram. 🙂

    1. Thanks Laura, and yes it was a sad day, and a bit of a sad week here. I’m not very political, and try not to get caught up in the “war on terror” stuff, but the act itself, and knowing a man so young was taken so early is what makes me sad. Whether the shooter had any “religious ties” is a bit played out. The real story should focus on a broken system because he was essentially homeless, a drug addict, and reportedly mentally unstable. There were probably many far greater elements at.play than whether he was Muslim or not. These acts don’t follow true Muslim beliefs.

      1. I hope you don’t misunderstand my comment….I didn’t mean evil = Muslim. I just meant there is “evil” in the world…wherever it comes from.

  4. Very sad news and for the lst few hrs. in major Canadian cities, people wondered about security..
    Unfortunately I think the Ottawa shooting….did nothing but create equation between Muslim beliefs and terrorism. Terribly misleading.
    People going nuts about national security when in fact, this was a Canadian who had a long history of severe depression and mental instability and killed an innocent person. This happens several times per month in Canada.

    1. I couldn’t agree with you more Jean. I watched a brutal 5th Estate last night that focused solely on terrorism. It totally left out the fact that we have an embarrassingly pathetic criminal rehab program.

  5. It was such a tragic event and whenever something like this happens I just don’t understand how anyone can take a human life. Your image is fantastic – their is a sombre mood/tone to the photo which is very apt for this tribute. Glad to hear you don’t live near the downtown core and you were safe.

Please share your thoughts below...

