Black (& White) Friday: Graceful and Deadly

This is a new take on an old friend. I think I’ve shared this image at some point in the past, but in colour. So, I decided to try it out in black and white and I think I really like the result.

I’m not sure if it’s simply because I’m Canadian and we have these big fluffy guys in our Great White North, but I’m fascinated by polar bears. They’re such massive animals that truly live at the top of the food chain. This was shot at the Toronto Zoo, and though I’ve written about my feelings on captive animals in the past, this will likely be my only opportunity to see these beautiful beasts up close.

I love animals and nature so much, and I feel that this image captures the true innocence and grace of the polar bear.

polar bear b/w

28 comments

  1. So you went scuba diving in the Arctic Circle to capture this image? You are the man! Oh, wait. I just read your narrative.So, you’re not the man! You’re still a heck of a photographer. And I like what you wrote, too!

    1. Thanks so much again Robyn, I really like it too… which I’m probably not supposed to say, but I’m just really happy with the result. As I mentioned in an earlier comment, the shooting conditions were really challenging.

      1. I’ve got an idea of what you mean here Shane – probably underground with the sun glaring in through the water or something like it – Awesome!!
        I think it’s good to know when you’re happy with your results πŸ™‚

    1. Oh wow, thanks so much Robyn πŸ™‚ That’s way too kind. They were all really great. I actually wanted to go with a b/w version because I was pretty sure that nobody else would do it, but in the end the colour in the buildings swayed my final decision.

Please share your thoughts below...

