My First Street Image

This image and I go way back. In fact, I think I took this shot on my very first street photography shooting attempt. At the time, I had no idea what I was doing or what I was looking for, but for some reason this particular image has stuck with me from that day.

I think the thing that strikes me most about the image, despite it’s poor quality, is the contradiction between the two strong opposing lines of the windows in the building, and the leading lines that force the viewer up through the middle of the image.

The journey seems to begin at the lady frozen by her cell phone, then travel up the stairs to the patrolling security guard as he passes, and finally through to the tip of the Christmas tree.

It’s an image that proves that image quality doesn’t necessarily matter, since I was still shooting in jpeg at the time, but the combination of photographic elements do matter. Perhaps no one else will think much of this shot, but it has always been one of my favorite shots.

x-mas tree

14 comments

  1. It’s a great image, Shane! I’d be perfectly happy with that. There is a definite sense of leading lines, from the stairs to the tree, and the contract between the darker foreground and the bright office windows helps it really stand out! 🙂

  2. Shane: I like this also, nice shot – the interpretation is simply what we get out of it. But I’m curious about your comment about “still shooting in jpeg. As opposed to Raw? ?? I’m still in jpeg, and at that having a time managing my storage, now with several terabytes connected to my Apple. M 🙂

    1. Wow, several terabytes of storage using jpeg? You must have way more images than I do, but some cameras file sizes vary and jpeg isn’t a standard file size… I believe. You must have hundreds of thousands of images.

      1. Actually, Shane, I probably have about 35,000 images but a lot of intended and un intended redundancy. besides being somewhat liberal with digital images, I’ve digitalized about 15,000 slides and still working on a couple of thousand prints dating back to early 20th century. All family stuff and an engaging hobby. The terabytes also cover I tunes music, and a fair amount of movies and Digitalized VCR tape. Happy Thanksgiving,
        M

Please share your thoughts below...

