Winter Wonderland

I can’t believe we’re already approaching the end of January. I mean, I’m still finding Christmas decorations scattered around the house.

It’s about this time of year that I start dreaming about spring and summer, but since this is my first full winter in Ottawa, I’m trying to suppress those warm thoughts and enjoy everything Ottawa has to offer in the winter… and there’s a lot.

The weekend weather was absolutely beautiful. Though yesterday was -26 degrees Celsius, we didn’t let that stop us from getting out and exploring the nearby trails.

We searched for birds and squirrels, and ended the hike with a bit of sledding on a massive hill. It was the boys first real time tackling a big hill.

Here are a couple shots of the morning hike taken with my phone, processed using the Snapseed app, and posted using the WordPress mobile app.

image

image

image

image

29 comments

  1. Looks like a chilly adventure! Those trees are such beautiful shapes. Happy to hear you are making the most of the winter, spring will be here before you know it. I am seeing the seasons in our new town as well. It is really incredible to see a place for the first time throughout a year.

      1. Yes, I am finding it very interesting to see the seasonal changes for sure. I love it here, it is an inspiring place visually. Hope you and your family are settling in as well.

  2. These shots are gorgeous! Goes to show that a good eye for photography can come up with beautiful shots with just a phone camera! How’s this winter comparing to the Toronto winters?!

    1. Thanks for such a wonderful comment Jess! I think it’s funny that my phone has a larger MP camera on it than the $450 camera I bought 8 or 9 years ago.

      The winter here is cold, but it’s far more beautiful. I don’t think we’ve had as much snow as Ottawa normally gets, but it’s consistently been -25 to -30 celcius since the start of Jan. Toronto only gets a few days like that each winter.

      I loved following your huge trip on IG. How was it?

      1. It’s amazing what you can do with a mobile phone these days, hey?!
        The photos certainly look beautiful, hopefully you guys are all keeping nice and warm!
        Thanks so much šŸ™‚ the trip was incredible.. Just wow!

  3. Still finding Christmas decorations? Heck, we still have our tree up. If you ask my younger two kids, they still think it’s Christmas. šŸ˜€

    But you’re totally right – it’s hard to believe the month is almost over.

  4. Everywhere I turn. Everywhere I look. “I can’t wait until this winter weather is past and spring is here.” You will never hear that from me though. I’m always looking forward to winter and love to photograph it more than other seasons. This winter has been a bit slow for me though with how busy I’ve been. I like the autumn with the changes in color, the winter with all the snow and ice, and spring with new life and flowing streams and waterfalls. But summer on the other hand is the season I hate the most. The vegetation grows thick and simplistic photos are harder to find. I also hate the heat that summer brings. I’m happier bundled up in sub zero temps than wearing shorts and a shirt hiking around in warmer weather. The only complaint you’ll hear form me this winter though is that there hasn’t been enough snow!

Please share your thoughts below...

