3 Year Anniversary!

WordPress 3 Year Anniversary

Wow! I can’t believe I started blogging three years ago. A lot has changed in the time since I started this blog, including the reason I started blogging.

In the beginning, I created a blog with the idea that I would write about the things that were going on in the industry I was trying to enter… fundraising. Without successfully landing my dream job, and not having many experiences to write about, I did as many of us do with a blog when we are starting out, and that is to just let it lie.

Over the next two years my ideas about the blog evolved and I went through short spurts of new blogger excitement, but I continued to struggle to find my spot in the blogosphere. My writing frequency, and my site views struggled too. Discouraged but still determined to make this dead horse of a blog work, I decided to give it one last shot, so in early 2014 I decided to start sharing the photos I was taking.

On Jan, 15, 2014 I published a post called Hair May Come and Go, but Friendships Stay The Same, and I was suddenly hooked. I began publishing with more frequency, participating in the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenges, and commenting on other people’s blogs. The more I blogged, the more fun I had, and the more hooked I became. The hard work I’ve put into the blog has definitely started to pay off, particularly in 2014, and I don’t really consider those first two years as blogging time. But in reality, I guess I was technically blogging in that time, and when I look back on it I think I learned a lot about the process.

I have made a LOT Β of great friends through this process, and I’m thankful for that. Blogging has been a tremendous creative outlet for me, and I love what I, and others on WordPress have created. This is such a fantastic, close nit community, and I am so grateful forΒ all of you who have encouraged and motivated me along the way.

Shane

51 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing your blog backstory, Shane! I’m sure I’m not alone in being delighted that you stuck it out. You have been a personal source of inspiration and a wonderful blogging friend. Congratulations on your anniversary – here’s to many more to come! Cheers πŸŽ‰

  2. Congratulations Shane, I’m really glad you stuck at it, it has been fantastic getting to know you. All the best for the years to come in this wonderful blogging community.

  3. Oooooh happy anniversary and CONGRATULATIONS!!!! It’s always great to hear about how and why people not only get started, but stick with it for so long… massive achievement πŸ™‚

  4. Congrulations, Shane. Three years of blogging is a long time. I really enjoy the photos that you put up and thanks for showing us your part of the world. Looking forward to seeing more πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for the back story, Shane! Isn’t it funny how things begin and what they become… So glad you found your way, and a place to share your photos. You’re such a great photo-blog-buddy… πŸ™‚

  6. Great work, Shane! It’s amazing how time flies when you’re having fun, and to keep finding inspiration and drawing on it is always good (if sometimes a challenge!). Here’s to the next three years! πŸ˜€

  7. Congrats Shane! I wonder how many people start a blog for one reason and end up changing their focus or path down the road. I bet it’s more than we realize. I just hit my 1 year mark last month and if anything I have learned that more than the posts I do I like the atmosphere of the WP community and being able to meet others that have the same interest to learn new things or share ideas. I don’t think my photography would have grown as fast as it has if I didn’t start blogging because it is because of all the different photos I view and posts that I read that help me learn new things. I hope that in another 3 years you’ll still be posting new photos or just blogging about whatever!

  8. Hi Shane, things certainly do evolve as we go.
    Huge congrats on 3 years and all that youve achieved here within that time.
    Certainly glad I found your blog and your wonderful photos and outlook πŸ˜ƒ

    1. Hi Robyn, thanks for stopping by! It’s been so long since we’ve chatted and even longer since I’ve been over to your site. I miss it, but it’s one of the casualties of trying to cut back on computer time a little. I’ll be by soon though… hope you’re well πŸ™‚

Please share your thoughts below...

