A New Year, A New Outlook, And A Portrait

We’re already into our third week of 2016 and I feel like I’ve barely had a chance to stop and think, or even reflect on the year that was.

At the start of 2015, I made a few achievable goals both personally and photographically. This being a photo blog, I’ll stick to my photographic goals. It would be the start of my first full year in a new city… having moved the previous summer. I wanted to get out and meet people, and decided to use photography as a means to do so. I also wanted to push my creative limits with the following goals in mind: shoot more photos; print more photos; make portraits of strangers; get published; shoot a wedding.

The last goal was a long shot and I had no idea how I would achieve it, especially considering that I wasn’t going to market myself as a wedding photographer.

Without dragging you through a long and detailed recap of my 2015 experiences, I’ll try to update you on my results.

  1. Shoot more photos – Yes. I shot nearly thirty thousand images throughout 2015 between family, friends and strangers.
  2. Print more photos – No. While I did print some images, I didn’t print nearly as many as I would have liked. I’ll work on that in 2016.
  3. Make portraits of strangers – Yes. I connected with a number of people in Ottawa last year, and stumbled on a journey of documenting chefs. I’m still working on the series in 2016, but if you haven’t seen the series yet, feel free to brows my past posts. One was even Freshly Pressed!
  4. Get Published – No… well, almost. Through my chef series I have been working on a couple of other projects. One that I’m really proud of will launch in the spring and I’ll be able to share it with you then. I’m still hoping to make it into a magazine this year though.
  5. Shoot a wedding – Yes! Out of nowhere, a pair of friends called me up to ask if I’d be their photographer. I loved the experience and desperately want to do it again.

Perhaps I’ll share my 2016 goals with you sometime soon. For now, I’ll share a portrait of a really cool guy I recently met as a result of my photography efforts. This is Michael, he’s the really rad head chef at one of (actually two of) the best restaurants in the city. He’s also a huge music lover.

Happy New Year everyone!

michael radford

22 comments

    1. Hey Laura, nice to be here when I can. I wish I could visit everyone’s blogs like I used to but I’m pretty busy these days. Love always having the great community here though 🙂

    1. Hey Jess, things are great. Been making a lot of furniture for the house actually- a bed and a dining table 🙂 How are things with you? I’m always following along on Instagram anyways.

      1. Oh wow! Making your own furniture?! Amazing! That’s something I’ve always wanted to have a go at, it must be so rewarding! All is well on the side of the world other than the 40 degree Celsius days that we’re (not) enjoying >.<

      2. Haha, well it’s -14 feeling like -27 celsius here so don’t complain 🙂 Yes, building furniture is really rewarding, and a lot of fun. It also saves a pile of money if you can make it look like the $2000 dining tables we liked in the store.

    1. Hey Julie, Happy New Year! How are things on the farm? I feel like you live the high life out there 🙂 And yes, I miss doing street photography too. I don’t have much of a chance around here.

      1. Oh the high life .. That sounds grand! The farm life is great! Haven’t seen you at Frog Pond in ages .. I do so hope you get out with your camera in the streets again soon 😄

  1. Good to see you again, Shane. The calendar gets to moving too fast at times, but generally I keep saying Happy New Year through the end of February. Sounds like you had a good 2015. I thought I shot a lot, by your 30,000 beats my paltry 5,000 by a mile.

    Here’s to having a great 2016!

  2. I love the chef photo – was not what I expected as I scrolled down – guess i was expecting chef hat and stainless steel?!
    But not disappointed – great light and the mood of the piano and positioning is super nice!
    Enjoyed reading your goals and cheers on them all – esp the wedding!
    Hope your current projects are going well!
    Peace

Please share your thoughts below...