Chef Portraits: Paul Dubeau

At the start of 2015 I made a concious decision to change my focus on the blog and in my photography by shooting and sharing meaningful projects and (hopefully) quality content. As 2014 drew to a close, I realized that there were a few projects tumbling around in my head, and after months of planning and coordinating, I am finally ready to share one such project.

paul dubeau

Since moving to Ottawa, I have learned that the city has many thriving movements, from music, to craft beer, to food. Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver tend to steal the bulk of the limelight when it comes to star chefs, great food, and dazzling restaurants; but with its quiet confidence, Ottawa has a food scene that measures right up there with the best in the country. And don’t just take my word for it, the New York Daily News agrees.

While doing some research for my projects, I stumbled on a chef collaborative called the Bytown Chefs Collective (BCC). The Collective is formed by seven of the best young Ottawa chefs who host events that raise money for the community, as well as showcase their collaborative efforts on preparing stellar menus.

Over the coming months, I will be shooting each member of the group in their respective kitchens throughout Ottawa. Today’s post features Paul Dubeau, Head Chef of five kitchens here in the city – all four Clocktower Brew Pubs, and Stella Osteria.

I hope you enjoy…

27 comments

    1. Thanks so much! I feel that different angles are important while on a shoot, and I think that as I move deeper into this project I’ll get a better sense of how to shoot in the kitchens.

  1. Love love love love love!!! I cannot WAIT to see more work from you this year – I feel like it’s going to be a great second half of the year for your work!

      1. Aww thanks Shane – you seem to produce your images so seamlessly though, like there really isn’t a heap of hard work involved… I’m sure there is, but the beauty of your images are that they seem so EASY, which is why they’re all so beautiful!

  2. What a handsome dude 😉 These photos are incredible! They really show his character. Good work!

  3. And interesting idea for a series Shane, I am always impressed with your minimalistic approach, in writing and art. Yet it all tells a well thought out, feeling story.
    I can smell the french fries, see the chef’s love for his work and hear the busyness of the kitchen in these images. Looking forward to seeing your photography grow with this project too. I am sure it will!

      1. On the verge of being great! Husband gets home after 3 weeks away tomorrow, house we have been trying to sell off and on since we moved has an offer and there are two weeks left of school/work for me and then SUMMER starts. So…lots to be happy about and celebrate. Loving where we live too! Thanks for asking 🙂

Please share your thoughts below...