Trees in the City

One afternoon while walking in downtown Toronto, I came upon this guy taking a break and being flanked by two small trees. I was originally drawn by his framing between the trees, but when I looked at the image afterwards, I also liked the lines and textures created by the mammoth black TD Tower. I also just noticed that there is a hint of a reflection of the CN Tower in the golden windows by the top left corner of the image.

This image also calls attention to the stark contrast I’ve noticed between Toronto and Ottawa. These two isolated trees overpowered by massive steel and glass are not an uncommon site around the city of Toronto. Green space is at a premium there, and if there is a large enough space, it always seems to be earmarked for conversion to a condo or office tower.Β In Ottawa on the other hand, trees and green space is everywhere, and that is one of the things I love about this place.

lunch break

18 comments

  1. Another great shot…and one that is very nostalgic for me. (I used to work in the downtown/financial core). I don’t miss the big city. I love where I live now, but there is a lot of history for me and my family there…

    Thanks again for the beautiful memories. πŸ™‚

    ps – still have not made it to Ottawa, but perhaps when it is Winterlude time πŸ˜‰

    1. Connie, I thought of you when I decided to post this image πŸ™‚

      And yes, you must let me know if you make it out this way for Winterlude. It would be terrific to meet and chat over a beaver tail… yum!

  2. Shane, very nice image. Although you mentioned the texture; I particularly like the contrast of the horizontal planter’s rough texture compared to the very slick vertical building surfaces.

  3. Amazing how much two cities can differ, isn’t it? Always makes me smile though to see when the effort has been made to throw a bit of greenery in the concrete jungles πŸ™‚

    1. It really is amazing how different cities can be, but Ottawa is quite a bit smaller than Toronto, so I guess it may not be fair to compare. Greenery aside, both cities are centuries behind when it comes to relevant transit. I mean, how hard can it be to plan for population growth? Shouldn’t it be a priority?

  4. I really like this shot because it speaks. Those tiny little trees against those huge buildings is really great. Your story is perfect with it and gives me an understanding about the two cities.

Please share your thoughts below...

