Street Portrait: Kobi the Jewellery Designer

As many of you know, I like to do a lot of street photography around Toronto. To this point, my street shots have candidly documented life and architecture around the city, but I have often wanted to stop a complete stranger and take his or her portrait. Someone with an interesting look, or some other unique aspect. Then it happened…

I was out shooting during my lunch break earlier this week and stumbled upon an interesting looking pay phone. You don’t see many of these around anymore. Suddenly, there was a tap on my shoulder, and a guy popped around from behind me and said, “hey, take my picture with that.”

Bingo! My first street portrait just fell into my lap.

Meet Kobi, he is a jewelry designer who makes really cool rings that have gears and gadgets from inside watches. We chatted for a few minutes, he was interesting and pretty cool.

Thanks Kobi for being my first street portrait.

Kobi Street Portrait Kobi Street PortraitKobi Street PortraitKobi Street PortraitKobi Street Portrait

32 comments

  1. This is so cool! I love that he wanted his picture taken 🙂 Love the photos and those rings do really steal the show. Great work Shane. I must say my post today was inspired by your street photos. I have never taken a photograph of random strangers…but these ladies were too interesting not too. I really was thinking, as I was taking the photograph, how do people do this discretely! It was challenging for me but great fun too. Thanks for the inspiration.

      1. Well, I just never thought to snap a photograph of someone I didn’t know, intentionally. That only popped into my head after seeing your work. So, thanks! I honestly tried to get a photograph of these two brothers, they were super tall and lanky, had beards down to their chests and were eating popsicles together, such a strange sight. But, I had my 4 year old with me and couldn’t get a good position to take the picture. I should have gone up to them and asked if I could take their picture, it was that good of an opportunity. 🙂

  2. Lucky you! I’ve always so wanted to get a picture of someone with that punk purple or green hair or those whatever hawk hair. I really need to just smile and ask. Now, this is really a great inspiration. It’s definitely in my ‘challenge list’. This week when I go to Rotterdam, I’ll look for something to share with you. 😀 Thanks so much for this. And nice photos btw. Cheers!

    1. Wow, I’m so glad you’re inspired. Get out there and do it!

      I look forward to seeing what you come back with from this weekend. I mean it… find something, shoot it, and share it. I want to see it… it’s a challenge.

    1. Ha, that hadn’t occurred to me. Kobi definitely exudes everything that is Queen St., Toronto.

      His rings were pretty great. I’d love to get my hands on a macro lens and spend a couple hours with his jewellery.

  3. I’ve never heard of somebody asking to have their picture taken before. That really is lucky, especially somebody with such an interesting look. I like the second shot in particular, looks like it could be from a movie!

    1. Ben, I agree. I was really fortunate that he was so cool and easy going. And, you’re not the first to comment that a couple of these images look like they could have come from a movie. Maybe it’s the processing, or the subject matter that makes people think that.

  4. Great portrait of an interesting person! Could well be from the next Matrix movie 😉 Facinating ring!

    1. Aren’t iPhones great!

      I’ve been using a Sony NEX mirrorless camera. It is very compact and has great image quality.

      I just got a Nikon DSLR a couple of weeks ago, so the images from that camera are slowly starting to roll out.

Please share your thoughts below...